Running

I go running every week,
To help clear my mind,
To make me feel good about myself,
And to leave my negativity behind.
You see, running has its pros and its perks,
As it’s the only thing that actually works.
It gives me strength,
It makes me feel tall,
And I guess it stops me punching walls.
And instead of reaching for the knife,
I’m running away from the problems in my life.
I’m literally “running through the six with my woes”,
As I feel pain from my head to my toes,
Which is getting worse with every passing minute,
As my body tells me that I’ve hit the limit.
And as I sit on a wooden bench,
Trying to get my breath back,
I’m just glad that it’s not another panic attack.

Leave a Reply

